What you need to know!
If you have been pulled over in the state of Texas and have received a ticket but wish to have that ticket dismissed, you will have to take an approved ticked dismissal defensive driving course. Be sure to contact the court that issued your traffic violation before starting your course to make sure your case is eligible for ticket dismissal.
You MUST get the court’s permission BEFORE starting your defensive driving course. By Texas law, all driving safety programs must be at least 6 hours long, and students must complete all six-hours of the program in order to receive a certificate of completion.
Texas defensive driving will typically cover:
- Texas road rules and regulations.
- Habits of safe drivers.
- Road signs and symbols.
- Driving techniques for hazardous conditions.
- Texas drunk driving laws and penalties.
If you were driving a commercial vehicle when issued the traffic citation, you are not eligible for ticket dismissal!
If you were charged with a speeding violation that was 25mph or more over the speed limit, you CANNOT dismiss the ticket!
Taking the course requires you, the driver, to admit guilt or sign a statement that you do not contest the traffic citation.
You cannot have taken a court-ordered defensive driving course in Texas in the 12 months prior to receiving your ticket.
Dismissing a ticket will also prevent your car insurance rates from increasing as a result of your citation and you’ll remove points from your driving record. Check with the Texas DMV to check how many times you can complete this course to dismiss a traffic ticket.
A certificate of completion can’t be saved and used in the future for a later traffic citation. Always complete the defensive driving safety course after the traffic violation.